On many occasions, we usually make use of platforms like YouTube to watch videos, share them and even carry out the next step, which is to create an account or channel on YouTube and create content for our channel and thus have followers, visits, likes in our videos and others.
But it usually happens that for some reason, we want to delete our YouTube channel with all our content, either for a certain time or forever.But what if we don’t know how to delete our YouTube channel temporarily or permanently from our mobile device or PC? In this small guide we will show you very easily and simply how to do it.
What should you keep in mind before deleting your YouTube channel forever?
If you made the decision to permanently delete your channel from the YouTube platform, you must take into account a series of factors, since you will irretrievably lose all your information and content both that you created yourself and in the settings that you have made in your account, whether they are uploaded videos, created playlists, uploaded stories and others. There are more factors which will affect your account and these are shown below.
The information to be deleted
All our content and information created by ourselves or by our configuration will be permanently deleted, all your uploaded videos, number of subscribers, surveys and others will be affected in the process, which is why it is an extreme measure and something that has to be thought a lot before making a decision, since these cannot be recovered from the platform.
The time when all your content will be removed
By eliminating our YouTube channel forever, all its content, uploaded videos and others will not be deleted instantly, if not rather the same platform takes an approximate of 24 to 48 hours, even this time can be extended up to a month or more, but the channel that created such content will appear non-existent in the YouTube channel list.
How is a YouTube channel permanently deleted?
We will show you these steps to carry out below:
On your cellphone
- Enter the browser of your mobile device, preferably Google Chrome, it is recommended to have the Android software updated to avoid problems.
- Being in the main screen of the browser, we go to the photo of our account, which is in the upper right corner of the screen.
- We must verify that the account to select is the same one that is linked to the YouTube channel that we want to delete, then click on where it says “Manage your Google account.”
- We go to the “Data and privacy” tab at the top and scroll down until we find the “Download or delete your data” section.
- Once there we choose the option of “Delete a Google service”As a consequence, we will be asked to verify the password of our Google account, we enter it.
- Then we are shown all the Google services to which our account is linked, we select YouTube, which will have a trash icon on the right.
- Again we will be asked to enter the password to verify, then we enter the option that says “I want to delete my account permanently” and we mark the box that shows us the elements that will be removed from our channel.
- We press the blue button “Delete my content” and we will be asked to write the name of our channel, we proceed to do it and we press the button to delete my content again.
- Something worth mentioning is that, the time in which your content will be deleted will totally depend on the internet speed you have and all the content that you uploaded to that channel, it is a process that can take hours and even days.
- Enter the YouTube platform from the browser of your choice, then enter your account icon, which is in the upper right corner, make sure it is the channel you want to delete.
- By clicking on this icon, we are shown several options, we choose “Settings”, after that, on the left side of the screen, we go to the “Advanced Settings” section.
- We scroll to the end, we will find an option that says “Delete channel”, we enter it and we will be asked for the password of our Google account, we enter it.
- After this, we are shown a screen to confirm that we want to delete the channel, we click on the option that says “I want to permanently delete my account” and we mark the 2 boxes that appear to us.
- To end this action, we click on the blue button that says “Delete my content”, we will be asked to enter the full name of the channel, we do it and we press the button to delete my content again.
How to hide your YouTube channel temporarily?
If you don’t want delete your YouTube channel permanently, you can choose to hide it temporarily. This is an excellent option to avoid losing all the content uploaded to your channel, this process can be done both in the version for mobile devices and on computers, the steps to follow are as follows.
On your phone
- We enter the Chrome browser from our device and click on the option “Manage your Google account” found in our personal account.
- We go to the data and privacy section at the top and scroll down until we find the option to delete a Google service.
- We will be asked to enter the password of our Google account, after this we look for the YouTube logo and click the trash can that is to the right of it.
- Again we will be asked to verify the account by entering the password, then, we must press the option that says “I want to hide my channel”, here we are shown 3 boxes, which we must check to confirm.
- After this we press the blue button that says “Hide my channel”, a new window will appear to confirm this action, finally we press the button that says “Hide all my content”.
With your computer
- Go to the official YouTube page and log in with the account that we want to delete, then we go to the channel logo that is located in the upper right part of the screen, we choose the configuration option.
- On the left side of the interface, we click on the advanced settings, then we will look for the option “Delete the channel” which is at the end.
- We will be asked for the password of our Google account, after this we click on the option that says “I want to hide my content”, we mark the boxes that mark us and press the blue button to hide my channel, to confirm we will be asked to click again on the option “Hide all my content”.
How to block the channel of another YouTube user that annoys you?
- We log in with our account.
- We go to the icon of our channel in the upper right corner and immediately afterwards in the YouTube Studio.
- We click on the comment section on the left of the interface.
- You look for the comment of the user to which the channel you want to block belongs.
- Select the action menu that is shaped like 3 vertical dots and click on “Hide channel user “.
If for some reason you continue to have failures when blocking a YouTube user, or you are not allowed to temporarily delete or hide your account, we recommend that you contact YouTube technical support, which has A highly trained staff that will help you solve your problem through email or future updates for the platform.
- 1 What should you keep in mind before deleting your YouTube channel forever?
- 2 How is a YouTube channel permanently deleted?
- 3 How to hide your YouTube channel temporarily?
- 4 How to block the channel of another YouTube user that annoys you?