Empty Gmail Trash

You use a Gmail address for your e-mails. Accessible from a simple internet browser, there is nothing to configure on the computer and everything is done “online” in an extremely easy way. Also, Gmail can be used on smartphones and tablets, but there through a mobile application. Action that can be carried out without too many questions on a messaging software such as Microsoft Outlook from the Office pack or on other webmails (Orange, Hotmail…), it is less intuitive to empty the trash of a Gmail messaging. Indeed, Google mask this folder so that the user can concentrate on the essentials: the Inbox, Sent messages and other important labels.

This tutorial explains how empty the Trash of Deleted Messages on Gmail, Google Mail, G Suite and Google Apps for Work (all these services use the same web interface). Recycle bin, trash can, trash, trashbox. Whatever its name in your habits, Google has chosen the term “Recycle Bin” for deleted items.

This manual cleaning is not essential. Note that Gmail will automatically delete an email that is in the trash after 30 days: “Messages stored in the trash for more than 30 days are automatically deleted. “

This other guide shows how to create a free Gmail account.

Gmail: empty deleted items

1. Open an internet browser (Chrome, Firefox, Edge) and connect to Gmail with his identifiers: https://mail.google.com/mail/

2. In the left menu with all the folders, click onMore To expand this page.

tutorial empty gmail trash

3. Then click on ” Basket “(Or use this direct link: https://mail.google.com/mail/u/0/#trash)

tutorial empty gmail trash

4. Click on the blue text ” Empty the trash To proceed with the complete erasure of messages in the Gmail trash.

tutorial empty gmail trash

5. A message asking to “Confirm deletion of messages”: validate with okay.

tutorial empty trash gmail deleted items

6. There are now no more conversations in the Gmail trash.

tutorial empty trash gmail deleted items

7. The next deleted messages will arrive in this folder and will be automatically deleted after 30 days of presence in these deleted items.